Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Redcat Crawlers

Notices

Thread: need advice on steering upgrades for my gen 7

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2018, 07:53 PM   #1

Default need advice on steering upgrades for my gen 7

Been making mods to this rig and I am trying to be proactive (instead of reactive) to problem areas (read, what is going to break next...) and the steering has been on my mind. I am new to RC and cars specifically, so I need some help here:

What I want to do is replace my steering servo and arm. Thinking of an aluminum Axial AX 30836 servo arm and a Savox SW-1210 SG steering servo.
Any input on either of these items? Options if they are insufficient? Expensive I can stomach if the items work well.

Do I need a voltage regulator? from what I have read I will need one. I am looking at the Castle CC BEC 2.0 Is this enough? Are there voltage/amperage values I need to meet? Compatibility problems?

Thanks in advance!

Pat
pearing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-15-2018, 08:22 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: need advice on steering upgrades for my gen 7

BEC is never a bad idea, not familiar with that servo.
Not sure if you have a sport or pro, but the CVD axles are better than dog bone, especially if you go aluminum c hubs and carriers.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
brimdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 09:51 PM   #3
Rock Stacker

Been running my rig for eight months now, it is the pro model and I haven’t broken anything. Just drive it and have fun would be my advice.
cjhike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 06:44 AM   #4

The Gen7's biggest Achilles heal, in my opinion, is the steering. Fortunately, there are a lot of free and inexpensive things you can do to improve it.