Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Redcat Crawlers

Notices

Thread: GEN 8 purchased & testing

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2019, 10:07 AM   #1

Default GEN 8 purchased & testing

Hey guys made the JUMP! to Redcat Gen 8

I was heavy into Axial scx10 /Vaterra Ascender camp and first off Im no pro and still run NIMH packs for the weight Im a casual rc modder and am a full time 1:1 guy

So besides regretting selling my scx10 comp bronco that was a absolute blast to drive I purged all my crawlers except a little rat RGT Bronco thats endured everything,

ANYWAY I bought a black friday Gen 8 RTR 239$ usd good deal considering and it was blue, I really want a trx4 but I get bored easy and Besides that sunset body is to nice, I watched every video on the gen 8 after my order naturally it arrived last week and I went to work, I charged a pack swapped over terminals and went out for a yard cruise i have a bunch of rocks and logs and dirt so it was a good test,

Off the bat the TIRES!!! UGH like a rock in 32* NJ weather, So I ordered Foams still waiting DEC 9 I get them and along with some axial wildpeak 1.9s I've used them in the past and like them, I wanna try HYRAX out on nicer rims thou

I didn't like the speed of it way to fast on a 3000mah NiMH , great punch and power the speed is to much, I like to crawl at a walking pace 1/2 throttle and when I need the punch for Obstacles Ill have it, So I usually run 35t or 45t motors I only had a cheap rc4wd 45t slapped it in and stock 17t pinion its much slower but I need a little more nuts up top looking at a 21 or 23 pinion or a 35turn or stock motor with a lower pinion, we shall see

I moved the back axle links further back as someone else did to center the axle on the body, looks better and I gained a little wheelbase so that a plus,
and on the bandwagon I ditched the factory radio/receiver and stole a flysky fs-gt3b more for the control of the truck, it was a little jumpy