Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Redcat Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Redcat steering thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2015, 11:46 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Redcat steering thread

Pics added 7/18.
I have been hesitant to start this thread because I have no means of taking pictures and proving what I say. I have been tinkering with my Redcat Rx10's steering for 3 years now. Here are some of my actual experiences and opinions based on experiments I have tried. I'll start with knuckles...

Anything that fits an Axial AX10 will work with the right washer in the right place. It should always be a "high steering" knuckle so that you don't bump into the axle and limit your steering potential. The more you spend the better it gets. This hasn't been true with all areas of my Redcat testing, but knuckles is the place you can really tell a difference with each step up.

Here's your entry level step up.
Hot Racing High Clearance Steering Knuckles Aluminum for Axial AX10, SCP21M01

These are way better than stock and have the high clearance aspect you need for good steering on a Redcat. Do you see the way there's that bend in the steering arm when it comes off the knuckle? This is less than ideal and causes some minor issues. It is stuff that would only matter if you were going for the guiness book of records worlds best turning Redcat like I happen to be. The other minor issue with these is that (I think) they are 8* knuckles. This causes there to be some pinching of the Chub at extreme angles. Once again only something that matters if you want ALL the turning. Overall I give them a "B" when I factor in cost vs benefit. They are a solid alternative and will definitely get you started down the right path.

Your step up...
RC Accessories - Axial SCX10 Parts - High Steering Knuckles - Vanquish Products