Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Redcat Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Motors, Control arms/links, and where to buy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2015, 12:57 PM   #1

Default Motors, Control arms/links, and where to buy

Hello everyone,
I am currently building a custom chassis for my RS10 Redcat.
I have a few questions that I would like to know about motors, Control arms/links, and where to buy.
Motors:
From what I have read it is possible to swap several different size motors into the RS10.
Several major factors that play a role in the RS10 is the small amount of size due to control arm location, springs and motor terminals.
I would like to use a 950kv outrunner motor front and rear. Personally, I have zero experience with this motor. However, I’ve heard the size and power is a great match for this rig.
If you have run any other size motor and didn’t have to beefy up a lot of other parts, please let me know what motor you’re running.

Control arms/Links:
As we all know, the RS10 control arms mount to the chassis in very weird locations.
While I’ve been building my chassis, I have started to think of several different ways to make the upper and lower controls arm meet the chassis closer together. I would love to be able to come up with a design that allows me to make a skid that mates the uppers and lowers all into one.
One of my ideas was to bend the upper links starting from the axle side and follow the curve of the motor. I will then have a straight section coming off of the curved section. To give you a better understanding of my idea, it will like a “P” lying on its back. I have not made any prototypes of this bend/ setup.
Also, I am interested in creating longer/custom links.
Have any of you ever done this? I have seen several people talking about using rod and tapping the inside. I would like to try another route besides that. Does any company make a end link that mates with a 3/16th rod without treads?

Where to buy?