Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Scale Accessories

Notices

Thread: Scratch built trailer

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2012, 07:18 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Scratch built trailer

Howdy

I have never built anything with styrene before this - so it has been a learning experience, but fun!

After seeing some trailers in videos posted here and on youtube, I liked the idea, and looked around here to see what folks had done. Some pretty impressive work here thats for sure! I dont have a welder, so I figured that styrene would be the way to go for me.

I spent some time designing it in my head - and arrived on the idea of leaf springs while browsing the classified section. Snatched those up - but was thwarted by the brutish handling of the lovely USPS. And all I got in the mail was a shredded, empty envelope... really? Why even bother delivering the shredded empty envelope?? At any rate, the person I bought it from was cool about it - but I was stuck on the leaf springs, so ordered a set from rpp and started building.

I take tons of pics - so only posting some of the more recent ones. Still not done, more work for sure - but its at a point that it looks close to what I had in my head - and I have done some more since the last pics here - need to snap a few more.

Pics:

Rear view of the leafs

Underside view

Showing it centered

Suspension flex!

And to the other side

Mounted up/test fit to my Dingo

Some scale bits put inside on the side rack inside I built, and on the front shelf

Tow rope I made on the front hanger, with scale axe.

Let me know if you want to see any of the earlier stages - thought they were probably less interesting over all.

If you have any questions or whatever - fire away!
Thanks!
B94Cast is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-22-2012, 07:22 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: Scratch built trailer