Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > SSD Trail King - Pro Scale Chassis Builder Kit

Notices

Thread: Which Power Plant For TK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2020, 11:36 PM   #1

Default Which Power Plant For TK

So I have my TK on order, turning up hopefully in a month or so, and have been slowly ordering the things I need to get this crawler going.

My question is about the power plant and esc it needs, and what have all of you who own one, put into your TK.

I have been looking at the 550 axe foc system combo, but am interested to hear what others put in it and how it performs.

I am not looking for basher speed.

Any imput would be appreciated to help me decide on what to get.
CriMiN4L is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-17-2020, 07:56 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Which Power Plant For TK

Check out the electronics section for an in depth thread on people's thoughts on the Axe system. I have no personal experience with it though. My only theoretical complaint is that the Axe system uses a proprietary sensor harness, so you can only run the Axe esc with an Axe motor, unlike virtually every other sensored brushless on the market.

I have other rigs running Holmes puller pros with Castle Mamba x secs and they are phenomenal. Creeps almost as good as a brushed motor but with ridiculous torque if you need it. I'm leery to toss that much power into a rig with no slipper clutch, but others with better self control than I seem to run such combos without issue.

I can tell you that I'm running a cheapo sealed can 35 turn with stock gearing on 3s and have no complaints for the minimal money spent. Creeps along very well with enough pep to bump up ledges or clear small gaps, does about 5mph all wound out.
meatmonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 09:19 AM   #3
Rock Stacker

I generally dont run brushless systems and cant comment on the axe system.