Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Superclass Crawlers > Tamiya Clod Buster
Loading

Notices

Thread: easy to build servo mount

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2005, 10:50 AM   #1
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Idaho
Posts: 81
Thumbs up easy to build servo mount

Hey I was building my latest crawler and didnít have the stuff I needed to build a servo mount.... so I had to use my imagination... the design actually works very well and makes changing servos a breeze because you only have to remove one nut to get the servo off. This design also works great to mount batteries and ESC to the axel or frame of your crawlers keeps everything nice and tight. Much tighter than zipties (sp?) or velcro

http://cbioffroadfab.com/RC/servo-mount.jpg
jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-22-2005, 11:01 AM   #2
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 1,673
Default

So, it just kind of sandwiches the servo in between the brace and the aluminum plate? I don't know, I would think that would work itself loose after a good run. Or maybe even break the servo case if you tighten it down too much.
AdamF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 11:21 AM   #3
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Idaho
Posts: 81
Default

no I've actually been running it this way for awhile and have had no problems at all...self locking nuts or thread lock keep it from working loose...also the plastic on the servos is petty strong I lock them down pretty tight with this set up and it doesn't destort the servo case at all
jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 11:25 AM   #4
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Saginaw
Posts: 1,721
Default

Hmm, interesting alternative, but I just wouldn't feel comfortable running that kind of mount.
Mad Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 11:48 AM   #5
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Idaho
Posts: 81
Default

here are a couple of pics of the mount

http://cbioffroadfab.com/RC/mount-pic1.jpg

http://cbioffroadfab.com/RC/mount-pic2.jpg

just an idea it worked for me ..... just thought I would share
jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 05:33 PM   #6
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cedar Rapids
Posts: 2,028
Default

This works great I have a twist from that though.
A L shaped piece with servo tape on both sides.
Attached Images
 
Cole82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 02:34 PM   #7
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Boobslando, florida
Posts: 323
Default

Thank you sir you are a genious

Ive been running my front mount servo since forever and I hated how it would tweak my gearcase with the heavy duty servo I have, then I just sold all my front servo mounts and I needed a cheap allternative and this worked better then any steering setup ive tried so far..

oh and even better that it only took about 10 min to cut and drill servo mount plus I had everything I needed in my tool shop

bulletproofcustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 02:39 PM   #8
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mesa, arizona
Posts: 156
Default

ok so this fixes my prob of finding a servo mount lol yes!
mesaAZclod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2005, 04:45 PM   #9
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Idaho
Posts: 81
Smile

glad to hear someone got some use out of this idea .... like I said it works great for me..
jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2005, 06:36 PM   #10
PapaGriz Yo
 
Grizzly4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: In the garage building the wife a crawler
Posts: 13,137
Default

I like the design. I think that with the servo tape there would be nothing to worry about either, Nice werk and thanks for posting the tech.
Grizzly4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 10:29 AM   #11
Say hello to my dactylion
 
PinchFlat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: On the Boat to Whore Island
Posts: 4,456
Default

I ran one like Cole82 did years ago and sho gooed the crap out of it... worked fine. We have actually thought of including something lile that with our vPrime.. but we never used it long enough to really test it.

I may run that mount on my Old School because you can adjust the placement (forward and back) of the servo. This will enable more adjustment of the lower shock mounting.


BTW Cole82... You haven't stripped that 3003 servo??? if you haven't your not crawling hard enough.

Last edited by PinchFlat; 09-29-2005 at 10:37 AM.
PinchFlat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 10:35 AM   #12
06 Super National Champ
 
JasonInAugusta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stark Industries Bar and Grill
Posts: 11,361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bulletproofcustoms
Thank you sir you are a genious

Ive been running my front mount servo since forever and I hated how it would tweak my gearcase with the heavy duty servo I have, then I just sold all my front servo mounts and I needed a cheap allternative and this worked better then any steering setup ive tried so far..

oh and even better that it only took about 10 min to cut and drill servo mount plus I had everything I needed in my tool shop

Why don't you run both links on top of the knuckles?
JasonInAugusta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 02:32 AM   #13
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Boobslando, florida
Posts: 323
Default

Thats really just mock up........ I have to do another teardown this weekend when my new goodies come in

rc4wd
New 2.2:1 gear reductions
Steel drive / axle shaft
and a set of lathe motors


My drivetrain is just about BulletProof
bulletproofcustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 06:34 AM   #14
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cedar Rapids
Posts: 2,028
Default

BTW Cole82... You haven't stripped that 3003 servo??? if you haven't your not crawling hard enough. [/QUOTE]

That was for setting up the links and the idea. Untill the real servos came in.
Cole82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com