Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya Scale Rock Crawlers > Tamiya CR-01

Notices

Thread: Newbie Questions...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2008, 03:22 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Newbie Questions...

OK, so my CR-01 arrived on Thursday. I started building on Firday night, and finished by Saturday evening - Probably 10-12 hours, thanks to some really careless building of the rear diff that I had to rebuild

I opted for blue for the shell, and I've done a very amateur job on that, but I've never done one before, so nevermind. I'll have some pictures soon.

Anyway, now that I'm in a better position to ask questions, I will do so (albeit stupid ones, I am sure):

1) My rear left wheel is twitchy. It runs fine one the ground, but if I run it lifted, the other wheels run smoothly. Is this a problem with the rear diff?

2) When I accelerate, the rear left side of the chassis pushes down / front right raises up slightly. I'm assuming this is an affect of the torque through the shafts. Since I've seen the same thing in a couple of Youtubes, I am thinking it is normal. Am I right?

3) OK, this is the only one that concerns me. After some outdoor use today, the servo drifted offcentre. I was careful to line it up correctly when I was building - connected everything, turned on the radio and receiver, let the servo centre itself - and indoor use didn't upset it at all. But after only 20 minutes in the garden, the servo had drifted almost completely to the right. I just dismantled the assembly and have re-built it around the "new" centre position the servo has decided upon, but I don't want to have to do that every time I use the thing. What's wrong? It's a Hi-Tech HS-322HD (I didn't know you could get high definition servos ), running off a Viper ECO20 ESC.

4) Why does Thread Lock smell like girly lip balm? Are Tamiya pulling a fast one?