Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya Scale Rock Crawlers > Tamiya CR-01

Notices

Thread: About to get a CR-01 and got some Q's

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2009, 10:42 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Talking About to get a CR-01 and got some Q's

I'm totally new to the RC world and so i'll need everything from the radio controller to the battery without breaking the bank.

I found a kit for $310 shipped and i don't want to go over say $550 max.

Can you help me out with the best components to get (please provide links to the products if you can)

In the future i may want to add back steering, will this affect my initial setup price significantly?

Also for the front steering, do i need 1 or 2 servo's?
Thanks in advance for your help

Last edited by hani1400; 10-04-2009 at 08:03 PM.
hani1400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-05-2009, 09:44 AM   #2

I'd say get these items:
645 hitec servo for front and back $70
DX2 Controller $130
As for batteries, Your choice of Lipo or NIMH. The battery and charger will put you over your budget, but you will be VERY happy with these mid-priced items.
Apie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 12:45 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

as said above hitec 645s work decently on these and batteries going nimh would be a bit cheaper . for an esc there are TONS of options. for radio you dont need a dx2 thats only if you want 2.4ghz otherwise a $40 2ch am radio will be fine.
servo- (same as hitec 645) http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXANT4&P=0
radio(s)- http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXASX2**&P=0
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXWPW0&P=0
a decent battery- http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXXUN6&P=0
decent cheap charger for it- http://www.towerhobbies.com/products/towp0160.html
heres a cheap motor for crawling- http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXVEV7&P=SM

then u just need a esc depending on what all u plan to do with it