Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya Scale Rock Crawlers > Tamiya CR-01

Notices

Thread: CR01 damper/suspension problem.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2010, 07:14 AM   #1

Default CR01 damper/suspension problem.

Hello all.

I am new to RC, and this is the first time i assembled a kit.

As far as i know, i did everything right and the CR01 is running smooth. However, i have a couple of problems. The torque twist is too much, so much that the corresponding wheel goes up in the air when i accelerate.

second, the dampers compress but do not rebound. so the whole car appears slumped down and not like the ones i have seen so far.

on doing some research, i have zip-tied mod and removed the front (gold) sway bar but that has not helped the damper problem.

please help me with it.

thanks.

deadman23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-21-2010, 09:37 AM   #2
MODERATOR™

Looks normal to me. These trucks tend to sit in the middle of their range of motion. That gives them some up and down travel, like a real truck. You could install stiffer springs to gain some ride height.
EeePee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 10:09 AM   #3
RCC Addict

Install a firm spring in the right rear or put a thicker stabilizer bar between the rear suspension. The twist will always be there but it should be minimized.

Mine doesn't ever lift the front tire unless I'm on the steepest of climbs or if I'm trying to peg the throttle on flat ground. But I only have the medium barrel springs in back and hard barrel springs in front with a thin bar up front and medium in the rear.

Last edited by 860Crawler; 02-21-2010 at 10:13 AM.
860Crawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 10:11 AM   #4

so in its normal position, if i press it down, it should rebound up as i let go, right?
Old 02-21-2010, 10:21 AM   #5