Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya Scale Rock Crawlers > Tamiya CR-01

Notices

Thread: My first CR, excited!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2010, 08:11 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default My first CR, excited!

Hey guys, I'm new to the CR-01 scene and have to say this is my favorite truck so far. These things are so capable it's amazing, and the fact that they are so realistic makes it even better.

So give me some pointers on what I should do to make this thing even more fun to run around. So far it has a Novak Super Rooster, Spectrum receiver, Warn winch, HR bead locks and a Traxxas waterproof servo that leaves a lot to be desired with the turning ability.

I will post some pics of my first outing with it when I get home to my computer and can add them to photobucket.

Thanks for a great forum that seems to be full of good info and cool people.
Got_Demo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-13-2010, 03:10 PM   #2
RCC Addict

You seem to be on the right track. The Traxxas servo should do alright. The turning radius is going to be crap no matter what servo you get especially if the axle diffs are locked. You should just be concerned with servo strength, you need it to turn the wheels when its on the rocks or in a tough spot.

Mine turns like a cruise ship and I think I have a pretty decent servo.
860Crawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 09:48 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Which one do you have....FJ, Jeep, Bronco, or Uni?

Mine started out as a FJ but I sold the body and put on a HPI Bronco body, I think I'll pick up the Tamiya Bronco body next?

....Tom
th67ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 07:52 AM   #4
Pebble Pounder