Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya Scale Rock Crawlers > Tamiya CR-01

Notices

Thread: Osteo's Build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2014, 08:53 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Osteo's Build

First off, my name is Dennis and I am new to Crawling!

As with any true fairy tale ... many many years ago my buddy and I had RC cars, we raced, we tinkered and we eventually grew up and other bigger things started to take our money

But at around this time last year I met someone that is pretty high up in the RC industry here at home that could hook us up with Tamiya RC's if we so chose... so we decided to both get the new CR01's, figured we could tinker on them together when we had the time.

We waited for months for the Rock Socker to be released and as Canada was only slated for 10 units we got 2 of them!

Well, it took me a couple weeks to finally get mine built, but my buddy decided to not follow the instructions and started opening bags of screws, etc... out of order ... as we all know, HUGE mistake. Needless to say his frustration level grew and the mish mash of parts sat even longer in the box.

He then found Axial and dropped $500 and had it built and running in 10hrs! and sold me CR01 for a song.

I on the other hand was and am still quite happy with my CR01 but quickly realized I wanted a bit more out of it. Trolling around here seeing OSCR's and a few of the other guy's builds did not help matters much!

I managed to score a whole pile of new Integy parts off of Fleabay for $40 so they were installed shortly after the original build.

So, my plans began, I purchased more tools for my workshop (bandsaw) and finally got around to some cutting, bending and finally assembling!

Here are the pic's so far:

As the Rock Socker:

I quickly removed the sway bars out of it, and in these pictures the springs are stock out of the box as per the instructions.