Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Tamiya TLT Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Looking to Fabricate Custom Crawler

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2009, 07:28 PM   #1

Default Looking to Fabricate Custom Crawler

Ok hears the deal. I bought a Nylint jeep crawler from a guy at my work and couple months back and i fell in love with the thing. I know this is not as complex as the crawler you all build but i didn't have a clue people crawl with RC's until he told me. Well the other day something eletrical went wrong with the Nylint and its dead. So now i'm looking to build my own. I'm a machinist and have access to CNC mills, lathes, and water jets and all the works, so i'm guessing i'll have a slight advantage. I'm looking to build a 2.2 scale, i'm going to cut out my own chasis on the water jet and use other machines i can to my benefit. I just have a few questions, i know i want to use TLT axles i just need some idea on a motor and tranny combo. I'm not looking to compete just something to fool around with so nothing to extreme. What height are the tires for the 2.2 scale, in inches.....somthing like 5 inches? Also do anyone know where i can get a chevrolet truck body for the crawler, i want to wheels to fit in the wheel wells of the truck, i'l trim the body if neccesary. Sorry for the long post.
jwc123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-18-2009, 07:35 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper