Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya TLT Crawlers
Loading

Notices

Thread: wheelbase length?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2009, 07:04 AM   #81
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,953
Default

Sure! If you dont plan to cut the holes in the plates like in the picture above, I would just put one collar on the wire on both sides of each plate (you'll need 6 collars per wire).
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-15-2009, 10:23 AM   #82
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: taiwan
Posts: 146
Default

Thank you JeremyH,

"Just under 17" nose to toes, ~8" wide, and about 10.5" WB."
How did you decide the length and width of your BMV2?
Are they 2.2 tires?

Don't know where to buy delrin plate and collars here,
so I just bought a electric switch panel (don't know how you call it) and steel wire clamps (don't know how you call it either),
with 3mm stainless steel wire, I roughly made this, width 6cm, (I'll buy 6 more clamps to hold the plates)
What do you think?

I used 3mm drill to drill holes in the plate,
the wires in the plate, should roll (twist) freely, or a little bit tight?
Thanx!




Last edited by kc092755; 10-15-2009 at 11:09 AM.
kc092755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 11:48 AM   #83
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,953
Default

Well, first, you should know that I purchased the kit....so the chassis was already setup. The length should be appropriate to set the wheelbase to 12.5". The width is determined by your axles and wheels. Yes, I built mine with 2.2 tires that I narrowed.

That looks like a great start!
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 10:28 AM   #84
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: taiwan
Posts: 146
Default

Thank you JeremyH,

Can you roll the wires easily with your fingers when they inside the plates?
Could you estimate how much wider the holes than the wires?
I'm not sure it is because the 3mm stainless steel wires are too stiff or the holes are a little bit tight, I can't get good flex?
Thanx!

Last edited by kc092755; 10-16-2009 at 10:36 AM.
kc092755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 01:25 PM   #85
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,953
Default

I cant remember the diameter of the holes, but you could easily roll the wires. The wires will soften up the more you use them. When I built my BMV, I used quite a bit of weight in the wheels to help with the articulation....it seemed to work well. Most other torsions are similar...
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 08:55 AM   #86
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: taiwan
Posts: 146
Default

Thank you JeremyH,

Can I use 6 AA size 1.2v batteries to make a 7.2v battery pack?
Thanx!

Last edited by kc092755; 10-20-2009 at 09:08 AM.
kc092755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 09:08 AM   #87
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,953
Default

Yep, you can use many different types of batteries to power your RC. Just make sure that the total voltage does not excede the maximum input voltage for your ESC (most ESCs can handle the 7.2V). Also, if I remember correctly, those AA's are usually ~1500 mAh. They wont last for an incredibly long period of time per run, but, depending on your motor, they should give you about 40 minutes of runtime.
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 10:09 AM   #88
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: taiwan
Posts: 146
Default

Thank you JeremyH,

I see most of the trucks are running 2/3A battery pack or larger size,
why don't they using AA size battery pack to save space? It's because of the runtime?
Thanx!

Last edited by kc092755; 10-20-2009 at 10:12 AM.
kc092755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 11:20 AM   #89
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,953
Default

Nope....not because of runtime. Most of those 2/3A cells are ~1500 mAh as well. My guess is because they are much shorter than the AAs.
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 04:10 AM   #90
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: taiwan
Posts: 146
Default

Thank you JeremyH,

The heat of soldering iron, would it affects the power or life of battery?
Thanx!
kc092755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:18 AM   #91
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,953
Default

Yes, you do not want to get the battery too hot. Solder the battery bars and wire on quickly and let the batteries cool before you solder the next one.
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 08:45 AM   #92
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: taiwan
Posts: 146
Default

Thank you JeremyH,

Do you know how to place the steering servo to an upright (vertical) position?
Could you give me a link to see how it works?
Thanx!

Last edited by kc092755; 10-21-2009 at 08:50 AM.
kc092755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 09:22 AM   #93
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,953
Default

Well, RCP used to sell these a while back:
http://www.rcpcrawlers.com/product.p...&cat=17&page=1
But I am not sure if they are still being made.

It is possible to make one yourself.
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 09:31 AM   #94
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: taiwan
Posts: 146
Default

Thank you very much JeremyH,

I'll try to make one.
kc092755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 09:02 PM   #95
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: taiwan
Posts: 146
Default

Hi JeremyH,

After a lot of sawing drilling and sanding,
here is my BMV2 chassis,
30cm long, 6cm wide, 7cm ground clearance, 9cm articulation, servo plate 4.5cm x 10cm,
need some adjustment to get more flex,

I'm thinking of put the receiver and ESC on the rear plate,
battery pack on front plate,
but the wiring seems to be a problem,
What's your opinion for electrical parts setup?
Thanx!









kc092755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 04:32 AM   #96
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,953
Default

That is looking great! Yeah, electronics mounting is limited on the BMV2 style chassis, but you've got the right idea!

BTW, that servo mount turned out perfect!
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com