Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Tamiya TLT Crawlers

Notices

Thread: First venture in the world of TLTs...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2009, 03:26 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default First venture in the world of TLTs...

I'm starting a rock racer build on a DMG tuber with TLT axles I bought from the forum. Until now my crawler and scaler were Axial based. This is my first time out with tlt axles and I thought I'd ask a few questions and hear some input. Still anxiously waiting for parts to arrive. Have some alu knuckles, hubs and straight axle adapters on the way. Going to be running a HH 30t handwound, sidewinder and a lipo.

First of all, would like to hear propositions for a pinion size (rc4wd r2) and the lipo capacity? Should I run an open diff front or rear? Do the stock shafts and stubs last? And what are the bag numbers for the axle parts? And the hexes, I suppose it takes the normal 12mm ones?

Thanks guys
trainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-16-2009, 05:11 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Here is the Tamiya page on the TLT-1:
http://www.tamiyausa.com/product/ite...oduct-id=47201

On there, you can find everything from exploded views to a parts listing.

Here is the TLT parts listing on Tower:
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...=TAMC0201&P=PU

I cant recall ever breaking a stock shaft...and I even drilled out the outer cups for more turning radius.

Yes, 12mm hexes.

I hope this helps...
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 04:38 PM   #3
RCC Addict

RCP Crawlers has everything to build bulletproof TLT axles.
http://www.rcpcrawlers.com/home.php?cat=17

RC4WD has some too.

Some stuff:
C's and Knuckles are a must have.
You can build your own link mounts that are stronger then the stock bolt on's.
Shim the dif ring gears, whether stock or copper locker.