Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Tamiya TLT Crawlers

Notices

Thread: noob with tlt Q's

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2004, 08:45 PM   #1

Default noob with tlt Q's

hey guys noob here,ok first off i just want to say that im new to r/c rockcrawling but not new to r/c and real 4 wheelin. my buddy is selling me his almost new stock tlt. im looking to make it a capable crawler and heres what ive come up with so far for starter mods
1. mount servos on axles
2. chop wheels
3. turnbuckles for links or possibly tube links for a longer WB 14" or so
4. get new shocks (not sure which ones)
5. lock diffs

my only question is what to do with the driveshafts? since i am increasing the WB will i need new drive shafts? if so which ones are the best replacements?

if i have left anything out of my list please let me know. any help and insight is appreciated! help a noob out

thanks
JEEPADDICT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-28-2004, 06:19 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: noob with tlt Q's

that should start you off pretty good. Only thing is you wont have to custom mount the servos on the axles. The truck is made like that stock. I guess you could make some custom mount but it would just be extra work. Also if you want 14" wheelbase you will probably have to make links instead of turnbuckles. Its real easy so if you need any help just ask.
pedesrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2004, 07:42 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave

You might be able to use the 114mm turnbuckles, but I don't know if those'd be long enough.

As for driveshafts, if you are using the stock tranny you can use longer dogbones, or if you swap in a 4tec differential in replace of the stock center diff you can attach traxxas stampede sliders. You could also attach them by modifying the outputs on the stock differential.