Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Tamiya TLT Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Stealth tranny in modded TLT chassis...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2006, 08:26 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Stealth tranny in modded TLT chassis...

I've been tinkering with this for a few weeks. It's my first attempt at a crawler so I'm a little slow. I started by reading a lot and planned to follow the typical TLT formula with the pede tranny, lathe motor, 12" WB, etc.

I started with pede tranny but wasn't particularly happy with the size of it and how it placed the motor so high in the chassis. I thought about a laydown configuration, but wasn't keen about having so much weight hanging off one side of the chassis. Then I picked up an Associated RC10 B4 tranny and was very impressed at the size, weight and quality of this unit. The best part is that it fits very nicely into a slightly modded stock TLT chassis. The only downside I can think of is figuring out how to mount sliders to the Stealth outdrives, but that didn't prove to be terribly difficult either. Anyway, enough yakking - here's some pics....

And finally, the obligitory flex pic...

oIIIIIo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-07-2006, 08:34 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

That's probably the cleanest stock-chassis build I've seen. Nice.
microgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 08:34 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Looks very clean, nice work...
k9popo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 08:41 PM   #4
Rock Crawler

Great job..! You will be amazed with that tranny. its absolutly bomb proof along with other great features..!
skipstr71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 08:50 PM   #5
CSR
RCC Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by oIIIIIo
The only downside I can think of is figuring out how to mount sliders to the Stealth outdrives, but that didn't prove to be terribly difficult either.
Tell us how you mounted the sliders, please.