Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya TLT Crawlers
Loading

Notices

Thread: Project "RAMROD"

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2006, 07:51 PM   #61
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 11,198
Default

Does your idler look like this one. This is a B2....I can't find a B4 idler on towerhobbies.com. See on this one the bearing fits in the idler. On the GT the bearings fit the case. But will the B2 Idler fit in the B4? My B4 Case is set up for a bearing like this.
run2jeepn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-19-2006, 07:59 PM   #62
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 181
Default

The RC10B4 tranny uses a different top shaft and idler gear than the RC10GT tranny. Here are the correct part #'s for the RC10B4...

Top Shaft - AE part # 9601
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXEAC1

Top Shaft Spacer - AE part # 9602
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXEAC5

Idler Gear - AE part # 9360
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LX3222

Idler Gear Shaft - AE part # 9361
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LX3223

The top shaft and idler gear bearings, diff gear and outdrives are the same for both models.

It might be a better deal for you to buy a package deal from one of the eBay part-out guys than buy all the individual parts. Here is one auction for all the brand new parts for a RC10B4/T4 tranny except the diff which you can use from your RC10GT tranny.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=6067064455
oIIIIIo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 08:20 PM   #63
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 11,198
Default

Thanks. That helps Alot. I should have made a motor plate for the RC10GT. It would have been much easier. Oh well I'm this far now. I guess I just sale the RCGT10. Since I just bought the whole B4 in all seperate pieces.
run2jeepn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 08:31 PM   #64
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 11,198
Default

Ya the bearings are in the idler gear on the B4. Their not in the case.
run2jeepn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 09:32 PM   #65
Pebble Pounder
 
J_Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 119
Default

I just found a way to mount my T4/B4 tranny in the chassis. Replacing all the internals seemed like a Pain in the @ss..
J_Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 02:26 AM   #66
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 11,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Bone
I just found a way to mount my T4/B4 tranny in the chassis. Replacing all the internals seemed like a Pain in the @ss..
The only reason I'm switching the gears into a B4 is that I couldn't find a Motor plate for the GT.
run2jeepn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 07:47 AM   #67
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 181
Default

Associated has made several versions of the Stealth tranny in both electric and gas flavors. At first I thought it would be a straight forward swap to convert a gas tranny to electric. I have since learned that while each of the electric versions share some parts with the gas tranny, none of them are a full swap.

The first generation electric Stealth used the same top shaft and idler gear as the GT, but a different diff gear. The 2nd and 3rd generation electric used the same top shaft, but changed to a different idler gear and diff gear. The 4th gen electric changed to a different top shaft, kept the same idler gear as the 2nd and 3rd gen and switched to the bigger diff gear found in the GT.

I think I'll stop watching the RC10GT auctions on eBay - too many parts needed to swap to electric.
oIIIIIo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 05:16 AM   #68
Pebble Pounder
 
J_Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 119
Default

If you have a GT tranny, I would just re-drill some hole on the motor plate to make it fit the GT tranny?? Not sure.
But they do have different foot prints too.

Here' s my T4 in mine... sorry for the horrible pic..
J_Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 09:43 AM   #69
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 11,198
Default

Well I already have plans for the GT. I using it in my next project. I won't need a motor plate for it.
run2jeepn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 07:25 PM   #70
Pebble Pounder
 
J_Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 119
Default

me too, it's going in my Nitro ....
J_Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2006, 04:10 PM   #71
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 11,198
Default

Got some more parts in today. I also bought this battery pack off E-bay for 99 cents plus $3 bucks shipping. It even can with a charger.

run2jeepn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2006, 09:26 PM   #72
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 181
Default

I bought one of those batteries as well. I tried it once and found it to be pretty wimpy and have never used it since. I found a seven cell Energizer AA pack works a LOT better and is physically about the same size & weight. Hard to be the price though.
oIIIIIo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2006, 09:31 PM   #73
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 11,198
Default

Ya I hear ya on the price. Did you find it wimpy on how long it lasted or power?
run2jeepn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2006, 10:21 PM   #74
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 11,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dezfan
Check this out, what I used in my Clod! 8 cell 1800 4/5 AA w/ Deans connevtor for $9.50 + shipping! Cut off one or two cells for a TLT.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll..._BID_Stores_IT
Can you not run 8 cells in a TLT?
run2jeepn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 11:35 PM   #75
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 11,198
Default

Well I got my TQ3 Modded for 4WS. I think it came out really clean.

run2jeepn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 04:01 PM   #76
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 11,198
Default

Well I got a little down to day on the chassis Not much, But it's coming.

run2jeepn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 10:47 AM   #77
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 11,198
Default

Well I got even more done today. I'll be bending the rod here at my house and then it goes to my Dads house for final fitting and to be MIG welded. Then it will return to me for grinding and painting. Here is how far I have gotten.


run2jeepn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 11:34 PM   #78
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 11,198
Default

Got just a little more done.
run2jeepn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2006, 04:10 PM   #79
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bonney Lake
Posts: 24
Default

looks really good. how did u mod the radio for 4ws? i wanna do that on mine.
down2earths10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 12:41 AM   #80
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 11,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by down2earths10
looks really good. how did u mod the radio for 4ws? i wanna do that on mine.
Open the TQ3 up. There is a Black, Grey and White wires. Cut them and solder them in the same way to a on/off/on Switch. thats it. Real easy.
run2jeepn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com