Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya TLT Crawlers
Loading

Notices

Thread: No Name comp buggy

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2008, 12:39 AM   #101
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 5,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nluvwithxlr8ing View Post
I havent used one yet, everything I hear says its just as good as the mamba max but it cant handle the high powered brushless. If thats true you cant loose I would recommend the caslte bec to power the steering too.
so how big & much is the BEC? Cause you know extra room is tough to find . Oh and would I need the BEC if running a Max?
rckjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-14-2008, 12:54 AM   #102
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Santa Clara
Posts: 1,456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rckjeep View Post
so how big & much is the BEC? Cause you know extra room is tough to find . Oh and would I need the BEC if running a Max?

The BEC from CC is only about 1" long, 1/2" wide and maybe 1/4" tall plus all the wires coming out of it. Not huge and should fit just fine in your rig, but you do have to route the wires which is never fun.

I currently don't run the BEC in mine, but I have it ready to go. I just never put it in. The BEC coming out of the Max is marginal at best with weighted tires. If you can run the BEC you will be happy. If you can't, just start turning your wheels sooner to compensate for the lack of power

-Sam
SlinkySam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 10:37 PM   #103
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 5,204
Default

would I need a BEC with the Rooster Crawler ESC. I don't have much cash but want something with more brakes for the comp this week.
rckjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 11:27 PM   #104
Im Brandon
 
Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 7,998
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rckjeep View Post
would I need a BEC with the Rooster Crawler ESC. I don't have much cash but want something with more brakes for the comp this week.
I dont think so. What servo are you running?
Brandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 03:56 PM   #105
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: somewhere
Posts: 197
Default

Awesome tuber. You can tell you put a lot of time into it. Great job.
smcurry83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 08:31 AM   #106
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 5,204
Default

Thanks Smcurry.

Yesterday while at the LHS looking at ESC's and shootin the Shit, another customer said he's got a Rooster Crawler he'd sell. He said make me an offer I told him $50, he said done. So it's all wired up and damn! that brake is strong. I'm gonna try and test drive it today, but I may just run my old XRS for the comp because of lack of seat time with this new set up. Plus the footprint of the R.Crawler isn't much bigger but the height is almost 3x the size. I still havne't find it a good home yet in the buggy. The area I'm working with is freakin small. See Ya'll tomorrow
rckjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 07:58 AM   #107
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 5,204
Default

I tried a few different configurations and nothing seems to work. the wiring set up for this thing just doesn't work with my rig. The main issue is the height. If I could get rid of the heatsink I'd be golden. If fits in the spot but the driveshaft is pretty close and the upper links hit it on full compression. Think it would work without the heatsink?


It'll go in the next buggy chassis, it's going to be a bit larger even though it's going to be a 1.9er.

Last edited by rckjeep; 02-17-2008 at 08:00 AM.
rckjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 12:11 PM   #108
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 140
Default

I like your build, where did you get the lower shocks mounts? I've seen them before on other builds. Also, I may have missed it, but what O.D. and I.D. tube are you using? I know it is chromolly.

The Gooch

Last edited by El Gooch; 02-17-2008 at 12:20 PM.
El Gooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 11:37 PM   #109
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 5,204
Default

Anyone use the RC4WD Stainless axle set? I busted another axle at the last comp and was thinking of upgrading. Anyone, I've searched with no luck on the steering set just found a thread regarding the rear straight axle set.
rckjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 10:27 AM   #110
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Danville
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rckjeep View Post
Anyone use the RC4WD Stainless axle set? I busted another axle at the last comp and was thinking of upgrading. Anyone, I've searched with no luck on the steering set just found a thread regarding the rear straight axle set.
Why not just go for the CVD's?
blue-beard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 10:44 AM   #111
Im Brandon
 
Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 7,998
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue-beard View Post
Why not just go for the CVD's?
X2, cvd's are the way to go with tlt axles. You broke another front axle shaft right?
Brandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 11:29 AM   #112
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rckjeep View Post
Anyone use the RC4WD Stainless axle set? I busted another axle at the last comp and was thinking of upgrading. Anyone, I've searched with no luck on the steering set just found a thread regarding the rear straight axle set.

I'm running the rears, but still stock in the front....
El Gooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 04:44 PM   #113
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 5,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue-beard View Post
Why not just go for the CVD's?
mainly price, they are twice the price of the stainless axles.
rckjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 12:14 AM   #114
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Portkompton
Posts: 21
Default

how did you make that hydro assist? Part #'s Please!
OptikCrawlR2134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 12:26 PM   #115
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 5,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OptikCrawlR2134 View Post
how did you make that hydro assist? Part #'s Please!
I don't know the part #'s sorry. I just used some TLT parts that aren't for the axles. It's a stainless steel tube cut almost in half, some brass part, 2 plastic rod ends & a link. To hold everything together I just used a center punch into the brass plug and the rod end. I remember someone posting up a better explaination, search for hydro assist or something like that.
rckjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 09:18 AM   #116
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 5,204
Default

Took Mugsy out to try this climb that has always denied the little guy.
He made it up a bit further but still couldn't get to the top.


I've just changed the rear suspension a bit to see if it helps.

Here's the before


Here's the after

rckjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 09:24 PM   #117
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 5,204
Default

Mugsy finally made it up that climb. I made 1 small change. I took some shoelace and made some limit straps for the front & rear. I limited the axle drop not the articulation. It took a few attempts but he cleaned it. I'm stoked, I've only been trying this since he was built.
rckjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 12:08 AM   #118
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,361
Default

Woah i never saw this build, awesome job! The rear upper link mounts look a little weak with those plastic mounts hanging over. What about a brace that attaches them to the other two holes on the axles for more strength? Like the stock tlt mount, but stronger. Or that brace might be enough though, not sure.
Norcal crawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 09:14 AM   #119
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 5,204
Default

Ya it's been ok, but I agree I'd like to make something that utilized the other holes.
rckjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 12:13 AM   #120
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 5,204
Default

Before I break the plastic housing I decided to make a support plate for the rear upper links.
Here's the before

And here's the after



This should keep everything solid. You can also sort of see my limiting strap
rckjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com