Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Tamiya TLT Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Custom chassis measurements??

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2006, 09:54 PM   #1
I joined the Band!

Default Custom chassis measurements??

I want to design my own chassis (I have a dad whos a machinest), but I ran into a couple questions.. Im looking at doing something in the \____/ shape. I know thats a common style and was wondering if someone could give me the lengths and heights I need it to be. I just took my Tlt out of the box, and them tvps GOTTA go..lol.. Im new to the whole crawler thing (as Im sure ya can tell), and any help would be greatly appriciated.

(Please dont move this into the noob section, Noone reads in there. )
Knoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-08-2006, 10:57 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knoc
I want to design my own chassis
Most of the time that includes coming up with your own measurements. your not going to get a definitive answer here because either 1. no two chassis are the same length (can range from 6-12") and 2. much of the chassis here are sold in the vendors section... and they dont want to give out their measurements because then everyone would replicate the chassis.

if your friends dad is a machinist, i'd say make up some drawings on graph paper. give him 2 or 3 designs. he'll most likely scan them and cut them with his equipment. then you can decide which one you like the best. i wish I had a friend that was a machinist, thats for sure.
srfrkyle1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 12:53 AM   #3
I joined the Band!

Ok cool. Thanks! I wasnt sure if there was a exact length it should be and such. So good to know. Thanks for the help!
Old 11-09-2006, 10:21 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper

Either way a good start is going to be right around the same size as the stock side plates. Just tweak it a little bit to your liking