Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Tamiya TLT Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Links question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2007, 06:30 PM   #1
BLE

Default Links question

Hey all.....I'm a noob.

I used to race on-road electric so coming to this slow driving is a bit of a change. Anywho, got a question as I am building my rig.

What are the advantages/disadvantages of the links (tracer type) where the upper links are triangulated toward the center vs. the triangulated links toward the axles (like most on here)??

And with the second type (toward axle), do the upper links have to be shorter? Meaning, can they be just as long as lower links. The servo moved for the front of course.
BLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-05-2007, 08:33 PM   #2
BLE

26 views and no answer??

Where are all the gurus at?

Or you guys just mounting the links that way because john, bob, mary, susan and everybody does it that way? hehehehe

Seeking knowlege.:-(
Old 03-05-2007, 08:42 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

In my opinion, the best way to center an axle is to have your links setup opposing one another (i.e. the uppers wider at the chassis and narrow at the axle and the lowers wider at the axle and narrower at the chassis). This will keep the axle from moving side to side unlike a link setup where all links are parallel.

This is how I setup the suspension on my crawlers...

Now, with that said, these are toys and an axle that walks a bit to one side wont make much of a difference.
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 09:55 PM   #4
Rock Stacker

I am not entirely sure of what you are asking as I don't fully understand how to triangulate the links 'toward' anything. I kinda just look at stuff and know how it should be, can't really explain it, it just makes sense in my head.