Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya Scale Rock Crawlers > Tamiya XC/CC01

Notices

Thread: New to RC hobby, enjoying CC-01

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2016, 09:28 AM   #1

Default New to RC hobby, enjoying CC-01

I am very new to the RC hobby, got my first car about a month ago. I am lucky to live surrounded by rocky forests so lots of trails start just outside the door and there are many crawlable rocks in the vicinity of my house.

I started with a Jamara Ice Tiger but very soon realised it got stuck all the time because of open differentials and low ground clearance. Then I bought a Vaterra Blazer and was amazed by its capabilities in the woods, it really opened up the scenery.

And then the Great Internet helped me find the CC-01 family.

I bought a Tamiya CC-01 Bronco RTR. It is very enjoyable as it makes a standard single track path in the woods a challenge, you do not need to be on a constant hunt for places to crawl.

After the first short outing I locked the rear differential which helped a lot in overcoming obstacles. I have the Tamiya plastic parts to lock the front, too, but will probably not do that as it is so pleasurable to try to find a way over an obstacle with a bit of momentum and clever lines. And for those cases when the car does not make it, it is not too much of a disappointment to help the car a bit with a boot or hand.

The stock tires are not the grippiest either, but I am not in a hurry to replace them yet.

I am amazed at the battery longevity with this car. I am still running in the motor so use only light throttle. I just got 1.5 hours of trail running from a 3500 mAh NIMH battery. By trail a mean a narrow foot path in rocky terrain, lots of ascents and descents, big roots, large rocks, sticky mud, sticks and other vegetation in places. So no parking lot excursion. I cannot wait when I can really use the speed.