Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya Scale Rock Crawlers > Tamiya XC/CC01

Notices

Thread: New to the hobby with cc01

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2016, 09:47 AM   #1

Default New to the hobby with cc01

Hi guys

like the title says i'm new to the hobby of rc crawling/scaling.
Well not really couple of years ago I had a HPI Bullit nitro car, it was a blast to have but I struggled with the settings on the nitro engine and I was going to fast for my liking, and I ended up breaking parts all the time which was a problem for me because no one around carried spares for that car.
I live in Iceland there is only one rc hobby store in the country and they only have HPI Savage and one or two Maverik/Schumacker cars in stock at any give time.

anyway back to this date, I've been looking for a long time for a new rig that isn't as fast and as I mentioned above I would always need to import what ever I buy.
I narrowed what I wanted down to Vaterra ascender, Axial scx10 and the Tamiya cc01 (because of the Pajero body basically)

I picked the cc01 mainly because its the cheapest one and I wanted to go for the cheap one as a starter to see if I liked it.
so I got a Pajero Rally version of the car (was the cheapest one) and a starter pack with a remote, battery, charger and servo. I ordered it from modelsport.co.uk on a Sunday morning and it arrived to me on Wednesday would have gotten it on Tuesday if I had payed the import tax early enough that morning.
as well as the car I got a metal ball bearing set from UK. from Asiatees I got a 4 link suspension and steering upgrade from GPM. What they fail to mention is that if you have short wheelbase you need a damper mount as well to be able to use the 4 link upgrade.
So when I installed the parts I found that out and I ordered some GPM damper mounts and got aluminum body mounts for rear and the links for the steering kit as well.