Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Testing 1 2 3

Notices

Thread: build thread test 1

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2019, 10:38 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default build thread test 1

Alright - back into RC after probably 15 years of being out. Caught the bug again and picked up a lightly used TRX-4 Bronco. I come from the T-Maxx and early Revo days, all nitro. I ended up building a brushless Factory Team RC10B4 using the old Novak Super Sport 5800 system a little later on. Also built an 8800kv Losi Mini T on the original Mamba 25 back when those were the must-have 1/18. I've still got those two around, but all the old Nitro stuff is sitting in a garage in Massachusetts. I'm a cinematographer and photographer by trade so my goal is to make everything I post here nice to look at - these shots are all from an iPhone XS Max with a whole bunch of stuff happening in post. For those interested in the gear I'll let you know when I break out a real camera, but unless specified everything is iPhone.

Anyways, on to the Bronco. It was a loooong debate, Defender, Bronco, or kit? Wanted to build and find a unique hardbody setup, but figured I should start with something a little less intense. The Defender is nice but there's just something about the Bronco - there's a ton of both models out there but I feel like I've got something unique to create. A bit of a disclaimer - I like to keep things OEM plus: clean, using factory parts when it makes sense, and not too flashy.

To start I ordered lots of stuff, based on a good bit of research and desire to keep things a bit simpler. I don't really want to deal with

- (2) 3s 5000mah Traxxas packs (I think they're more than fine for crawling)
- Traxxas 400 High Torque servo
- Traxxas BEC and extended receiver box kit
- Traxxas steel servo horn
- SSD weighted portal covers (Front)
- Big tube of marine grease
- .22 and .30 rate spring sets along with some 10/20/30wt oils for experimenting with