Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tires and Wheels

Notices

Thread: JConcepts Scorpios v Landmines v Pro-Line Hyrax

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2020, 02:05 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default JConcepts Scorpios v Landmines v Pro-Line Hyrax

I've never used any JConcepts tires before, but it seems like they're beginning to show up with more regularity at our local indoor rock crawling course so I'm considering trying a set. However, I don't know which versions to try, the Scorpios or the Landmines.

So far, the Scorpios are more prevalent but I believe that's because Scorpios are easier to get right now (Landmines seems to be out of stock at most places).

I've talked to drivers running the JConcept tires and they all claim there's a performance advantage but it doesn't look like they're doing any better to me when I watch them.

What do y'all think of these JConcept tires? And which ones are better (Scorpios or Landmines)?

For reference, I'm running a TRX-4 that weighs between 9-10 pounds on Pro-Line Hyrax G8 tires with Pro-Line dual stage foams. My rig performs well, but like everyone, I'm always looking for any advantage that allows it to perform better.
RCTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-02-2020, 05:14 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: JConcepts Scorpios v Landmines v Pro-Line Hyrax

I've had a set of 1.9 Scorpios for a few years, they work great on high traction surfaces like sandstone or broken concrete... but what tire doesn't? Everywhere else, they're average at best. I'm pretty sick of seeing the Hyrax on everything (yes, I have a set on one of my cars) so I wouldn't get them for that reason alone, but they definitely work better than the Scorpios by a pretty good margin. That said, of your 3 options, I'd give the Landmines a shot. They've got a tread pattern with enough similarities to a Pitbull Rock Beast that I'd expect them to perform similarly, which is to say: pretty dang good.