Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tires and Wheels

Notices

Thread: Foam and Tire mounting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2020, 04:26 PM   #1

Default Foam and Tire mounting

So I've done some searching and I didn't really come up with a solid answer so hopefully someone sees this that has a better idea than me.

A little bit of back story.
I'm pretty new to this whole crawling thing but it's the only type of RC that excites me so I'm diving in hard. I have a TRX4 long wheel base that I purchased years ago right before the bronco came out. Anyways I put it all down for years cause life happened. I'm now rolling back into it but with basic questions.

I recently purchased a long arm lift kit and short wheel base conversion kit so I have more options to hard bodies, and the lift kit I've seen a mod to make it a long travel kit, basically all this so I can use 2.2's. I just got one of my shipments in to start the build.

The Parts in question:
-Pitbull Dos Piezas 2.2 Kompilation Foam
-Pitbull Rock Beast XOR tires.
-SSD RC 2.2 D Hole Beadlock Wheels

First off because I'm a total noooooob are all of these parts going to work together? Secondly and most importantly how are you guys mounting the foam to the tire? I have heard some people are using glue, some using double sided tape, some not using anything. Some people are drilling a small vent hole in the wheel and through all the foam, some are cutting tires. Also This vehicle is going to be more of a trail truck then a rock crawler however I'd like to do both, yeah I know jack of all master of none but it's for fun not serious stuff. The truck will probably become submerged in water up to the chassis so if venting is needed I can promise they will probably fill with water.