Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: set screw help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2011, 11:19 PM   #1

Default set screw help

I'm still new to this but I am having the hardest time removing a set screw from my motor pinion. Is there some sort of trick or special tool that I'm supposed to use because either I'm stripping the screw or my tool. I'm using craftsman .050" allen wrench and drivers and I've even tried the T heads. I thought maybe they're reverse threaded since it's on a rotating part so I tried with the other motor but it's the same result. Any help with what I've should of done and I guess what to do now that I sort of screwed myself. Thanks.
Coffinspire15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-21-2011, 12:16 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Depending on the pinion some use the small US allen wrench, others need a small metric driver.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 01:10 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper

If they are loctited it can be a pain. I've had to grind a slot in them and remove it with a flathead. You can try heating it up or super gluing the allen wrench into the setscrew. I've learned to buy longer setscrews so I can use some needlenose vicegrips if I have to.
456heinbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 05:59 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper