Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures
Loading

Notices

Thread: How to calibrate calipers?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2011, 01:18 AM   #1
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Altos, California
Posts: 1,509
Default How to calibrate calipers?

I just tried searching for this and couldnt find it..

reason i post this is because i accidently hit Zero when i was measuring something, just now, and now it is not hitting Zero when i turn on/off..

is there a certain way to calibrate calipers?
MRCCRAWLER1.9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-09-2011, 03:42 AM   #2
Proverbial threadkiller
 
Trubble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,453
Default

Wouldn't you just close it down 'til the jaws meet and hit zero again?
Trubble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 03:45 AM   #3
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Altos, California
Posts: 1,509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trubble View Post
Wouldn't you just close it down 'til the jaws meet and hit zero again?
Yes, ive tried this many times, but everytime i turn it on or off, it gives me a different reading, so i was wondering if i was doing something wrong.
MRCCRAWLER1.9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 04:17 AM   #4
Proverbial threadkiller
 
Trubble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,453
Default

If I remember correctly my ON button is also the zero button, I've just gotten into the habit of always turning it on in the closed position and giving another tap on the button. Never thought to check if ever did what you're describing.

Well, sorry I can't be more helpful.
Trubble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 04:20 AM   #5
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Altos, California
Posts: 1,509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trubble View Post
If I remember correctly my ON button is also the zero button, I've just gotten into the habit of always turning it on in the closed position and giving another tap on the button. Never thought to check if ever did what you're describing.

Well, sorry I can't be more helpful.
Hmm, thanks for your help.

i dont get what im doing wrong, because i always turn it on/off in the closed position, yet everytime i turn it back on, it always gives me a a reading, rather than 0.00mm. I mean its not too bad, but its quite annoying. it can go from 0.01~0.09mm is this generally normal? or just me being stupid with the "Zero" button?
MRCCRAWLER1.9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:18 AM   #6
No idea what I'm doing
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Underground, CO
Posts: 4,533
Default

Do you have an "origin" button? Press and hold that for a few seconds with the jaws closed. If you don't have an origin button, try holding the zero button in for a few seconds with the jaws closed. Your zero button may also act as your origin button.
C*H*U*D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:24 AM   #7
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alburtis
Posts: 1,227
Default

This is why I use the old school dial version. My larger set uses the slide scale, but the older I get the harder it is to read!

Wes
brazwewn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:27 AM   #8
No idea what I'm doing
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Underground, CO
Posts: 4,533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brazwewn View Post
This is why I use the old school dial version. My larger set uses the slide scale, but the older I get the harder it is to read!

Wes
This is true, not to mention not being caught with a dead battery. But I use the Zero feature a lot. It's very handy so knowing how to use it can make life easier.
C*H*U*D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 12:31 AM   #9
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default

I'd like to have some digital calipers...all i have is the dial...although i think a digtal mic would be more useful, imo.
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 06:40 AM   #10
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,315
Default

OP, did you get the calipers wet? If so, open them up wide, wipe them dry & let sit.
The water messes with the encoder in the caliper. Sweaty hands can sometimes be enough to have issues.

As to "0", open the jaws, wipe the mating surfaces with your finger/thumb, close & turn on. Most use the "on" button for turning it on as well as zeroing it.

I have a large vernier caliper, a couple of dial calipers and a digital. I use the digital the most since it's easier to read (my eyes have gotten older, I haven't) and I can flip between imperial & metric with a button push.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 06:41 AM   #11
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
I'd like to have some digital calipers...all i have is the dial...although i think a digtal mic would be more useful, imo.
You can get an "OK" set of 6" digital calipers for under $50.
I have "mechanical digital" mics. It uses a gear drive to spin numbers.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 08:50 AM   #12
No idea what I'm doing
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Underground, CO
Posts: 4,533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
I'd like to have some digital calipers...all i have is the dial...although i think a digtal mic would be more useful, imo.
A mic will have a higher degree of accuracy, but for everyday type of use a good set of calipers is hard to beat. You can't do inside or depth measurements with a mic.

C*H*U*D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 10:33 AM   #13
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: MN
Posts: 164
Default

I have always zeroed out my calipers every time I turn the on and usually each time before I measure a part. I just wipe the internal edges and slide together to set, then recheck zero. Sounds excessive I know, but in a dirty enviroment it is possible that the friction device slides instead of rolling.
semnmrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com