Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: brazing tools

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2012, 11:25 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default brazing tools

Im a noob at doing my own tube work and things of that such. i have done a little searching but im confused on what i need to buy to make my own tube work and brackets. What items do i need for brazing and what kind of materials work best for tube and brackets?
wcdfmt510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-16-2012, 12:44 AM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: brazing tools

to make it simple you'll need these items.

if you got a lowe's, home depot, canadian tire any of those places will have a torch like this

Shop BernzOmatic OX2550KC OxyMap Torch Kit at Lowes.com=

get yourself one with the hose so your not trying to hold the whole bottle while brazing. this torch at canadian tire is $80.00.

next you'll need to decide on if you want to silver solder or use brazing rod.. i just got this torch for xmas and have found what works best for me.. i use 3/32" flux coated brazing rod found at the same isle in the stores as the torches. i just went to home depot yesterday and found a plastic tube of 3-36inch sticks of brazing rod for $6.95... sweet.. if your going to silver solder you'll need to "manually" add flux to the joints first also found in the same section. get yourself a pair of darken safety glasses too.. for materials i use 3/16" solid rod just because its easy and i find there's less dinking around just bend to shape clean up the ends and braze together.

some use brakeline some use solid rod its just a personal preference thing but the concept is the same. i say buy the torch and try the brazing rod that comes with the kit and see how you like it..