Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: Brazing thin to thick - technique, tip size or fuel?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2012, 07:55 PM   #1
RCC Addict

Default Brazing thin to thick - technique, tip size or fuel?

Sorry if this is here somewhere. I did search and read quite a few threads, but could not locate the answer.

I have a Berzomatic TS4000 MAPP torch. I am no pro, but am OK at common rod and tube joints (8 joints out of 10 turn out as expected).
I have been doing all stainless. I use 45-56% silver with Stay-silv.

I have two things I cannot nail down.

The first is running around the edges of thin sheet stock (20/22ga) to pipe or rod (run lengthwise). This would be filling in between the frame rail, and rocker with sheet stock attached continuously or in points along the edge.
The thin stock ends up glowing read before the pipe or tube even gets clear and hot enough to pull silver solder.
And I end up have to move an inch or two down the edge to do the next joint because of sooting.

The second is attaching most small stuff to heavy gauge items.
I have some nice rolled stainless trim pieces I want to use as sliders over the rockers. These are approx 14ga. and 3/4" x 7".
Here the thick piece pulls so much of the heat away, that by the time the joint area is hot enough to pull solder, I have cooked the small piece I was trying to attach.

I do not know how to weld, and am not ready to spend the funds on the equipment for it. But I have a local shop that I send enough business to through work, that will tack some of this stuff for me, pretty cheap.

Is there a better technique for the two different joints above?
They are clean and sanded to start, fluxed, and clamped in place.

Is it time to jump to a Smith MiniTorch? Is the small, controlled flame size the fix?
Can you run a smaller flame along the sheet stock and get an almost continuous joint?