RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Tools, and Procedures (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/tools-procedures/)
-   -   Machinists Corner (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/tools-procedures/371879-machinists-corner.html)

foratm 03-11-2012 07:00 AM

Machinists Corner

I would like to start a thread of Q's and A's for anything to do with machining.
I am a machinist and i see many other guys on here are as well or are trying to become a DIY machinist to save money in these hard times.
So whether you have a question on how to do something specific to CNC or even hand milling/ turning or an answer to the question post here.
Keep Chit Chat to a minimum to make it an easy to read and find thread.
Between my boss and I we have over 35 years experience as machinists.

krawlfreak 03-11-2012 10:44 AM

Re: Machinists Corner

I like this idea

We may need to talk to the mods/rcc folk to maybe even get a sub section.

CREEPERBOB 03-11-2012 10:53 AM

X2 "thumbsup", I'm moving from a drill press and scroll saw to a mill/ lathe now.
My machine came from Ann Arbor.

Crawling Calvin 03-11-2012 12:47 PM

This is awesome. I only have a few years (2) experience but owning and trying to make your own equipment sure teaches you a lot fast :)

One little money saving tip I know, and it sounds silly, is to make as much of your own clamps and stuff as you can if possible. You would be surprised how fast that stuff adds up when you really add it up :evil: and never underestimate C-clamps, they do come in handy "thumbsup"

CREEPERBOB 03-11-2012 02:27 PM

I'll through out the first question. Will I need a follow rest to turn 4" long pieces of 1/4" titanium rod to 3/16"? The rod is 12" long , but want to turn 4" at a time.

Crawling Calvin 03-11-2012 02:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CREEPERBOB (Post 3622979)