Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: welder?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2012, 05:26 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default welder?

100AMP ARC Welder Machine Rod Welding 110Volt AC Tools DIY Automotive HD | eBay

im looking at this welder and was wondering if it's enough to do tubers and maybe a little sheet metal welding. im new to welding and i want to make tubers. but i dont know if it has enough power to do stuff like that?
theloudone is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-01-2012, 05:51 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: welder?

when it comes to welding smaller stuff like tubers, or doing sheetmetal work like on full size vehicles, you should be looking at MIG welders. while an ARC welder will work they are alot harder to use, cause alot more mess, and take tons more grinding to get the welds clean.

when you look at MIG welders you can usually go two routes. the first is a MIG welder with flux core wire. this works ok, but leaves alot of slag on the welds, and it sparks alot leaving tiny beads of weld material all over the place. lots of clean up involved but not as much as an ARC (most of the time called stick) welders.

next you can get a MIG welder with a gas bottle. you can use either argon gas or co2 gas. these leave a good clean weld, very little of no slag on the weld, don't spark very much so not a big mess of tiny bead material everywhere, and very little cleanup of the weld.

you could also get into TIG welding, but this is best left to people that know what they are doing. it's not easy to learn, but once you learn how to TIG weld you can do amazing things. very small stuff up to large stuff, and no cleanup needed.

i'm not a welder by trade, but i did stay in a holiday inn express last nite!!!
hoghead5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 05:54 PM   #3
Rock Crawler

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoghead5150 View Post