Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: STANG KILLA SS learns to weld.....Thermal Arc 95S

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2014, 03:06 PM   #1
~THE SCALE SHOP~

Lightbulb STANG KILLA SS learns to weld.....Thermal Arc 95S

well ive been brazing for the last 8 years or so, but im often annoyed by its short comings, ie dis-similar material thickness's/sizes, intricate joints close to others, etc. usually ending in a cuse fest

So with the help from Josh (Harley) I picked up a Thermal Arc 95S TIG setup. I have never welded before, so everything is foreign to me. lots of stupid questions.

Thermal Arc 95S w/ TIG package
1/16 filler rod
TIG kidskin gloves
Chicago Electric helmet

ended up buy everything at local welders supply, they were only $10 or $15 bucks more than online, and they got it in much faster, about 3 days.

also built me a new/proper bench last weekend to have a good place to weld. ive been just using a little bolt together metal shelving unit thing. very wobbly and small.
total materials cost was about $110 from lowes, with 66 of that being the 6' preformed top.

looking forward to learning!
Cory
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-01-2014, 03:21 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: STANG KILLA SS learns to weld.....Thermal Arc 95S

Nice. Interested to see how a newcomer to the welder scene and this welder get along. I taught myself how to flux core weld with no gas. Then I finally bought a MIG welder and a few days later I saw the Thermal 95s on RCC. Still may be an option for me in he future. No pressure!
Szczerba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 03:37 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder