Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: What 3D printer are you using?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2015, 09:54 AM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default What 3D printer are you using?

Ok as the title says, what 3D printer are you using, and how is it working for you? I'm a complete NEWBE when it comes to these, but would like to learn more. I'm sure there are apples and oranges in this subject. Thanks for taking time to respond.
CODYBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-31-2015, 11:43 AM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: What 3D printer are you using?

Are you prototyping parts, or looking for high quality production level finished parts?

I've never been impressed with any of the FDM printers (filament style), and use Shapeways myself. As soon as SLS printing technology is available for the price that FDM machines are now I will consider buying a printer. For now though, Shapeways prints much higher quality parts than I could dream of doing on a home machine, and I don't have to pony up the cash to buy a printer now. The downside- it takes a few weeks for your parts to actually get to you. Shapeways works from a que, printing in the order that things were ordered. It could take up to a week for your part to make it to the machine, a week to go through their process, and then a few days to ship to your door.
89redranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 12:37 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89redranger View Post
Are you prototyping parts, or looking for high quality production level finished parts?