Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: Getting back into welding.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2013, 01:32 PM   #1
Defy Gravity

Default Getting back into welding.

well, this one is a long time coming. i used to be a very good welder in high school, mainly big iron projects since that was what we needed at home.

one project was my main work table. 48"x48"x1.5" steel top, 3"x5" 3/8" thick wall legs. this was a test from my dad (and nearly gave the metals teacher a heart attack) who was an accredited welder. he wanted a table that we could drill and tap for jigging and material bending.

here's a shot of the finished product, my dad's lay-up table in the background (forgive the mess). the legs are welded by 3 stacked beads of 7014 rod, full wrap around on the leg. still haven't tried to break it.

well, a couple years later, had my hand injury. this was pretty catastrophic in regards to welding. nerve damage and some tremor made it very hard to lay a bead down. so for a few years, i just accepted defeat.

fast forward to last week. namely, the 3 year anniversary of my father's death. i was cleaning out his scrap pile in the grove and found some things he had abandoned long ago. brought back the memories of learning to weld as a kid and i decided to fire up the old marquette and give it another go. then, it just started coming together after a couple pound of rod. couple more pounds of rod and i was ready to make up a typical right angle joint that i had done many times for him in the past.

5/16 7014, 120 amps. first picture shows a start-stop at the end (i was an idiot) while the second shows a full length bead. (ignore the tests on the top piece, dad had some really exotic rods laying around, turns out they are not kind....that and 6011 rods....)