Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: Best welder?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2016, 04:43 PM   #1

Default Best welder?

Obviously for RC chassises and stuff of that nature you don't need a $4k welder to get going but what would be best? I'm fairly new to welding and I would prefer mig or stick. Any ideas?
Hypergarage is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-11-2016, 05:36 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: Best welder?

Used. Depends on what material your planning on doing also.
ADlBOO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 06:28 PM   #3
Rock Crawler

I have a little Miller 140 suitcase welder that I use for buzzing together my creations. It can use gas or flux-core, has fine-adjust knobs, an auto set feature, and can even accept a spool gun for aluminum. Holds both big and small rolls. Don't let the size and the fact that it's 110 fool you, I've buzzed 3/16 plate steel with mine and it was beautiful. I think they may go for around $800 brand new with a cart, but you can find them on Craigslist for much cheaper. For the money you can't beat those little welders.
Reflektr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 06:41 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper

I would start off with an oxygen acetylene setup. Its the most versatile. You can also use it for welding, brazing, cutting and freeing up rusted/stuck bolts.

Last edited by 1tonscout; 10-11-2016 at 06:50 PM.
1tonscout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 06:45 PM   #5
I wanna be Dave

i have an eastwood mig 135 that is just amazing for the money...under 500 for welder and cart..can use gas or flux core wire....
allanon1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 06:55 PM   #6