Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: Got a 3D printer on the way, got a design question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2017, 05:01 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Got a 3D printer on the way, got a design question

So I'm using AutoCAD to try and design a relocated battery tray for the HPI venture. I have a question regarding stress concentrations and using fillets in the corners and such. I've done some searching and haven't found exactly what I need.

Do you guys that have done a lot of design work and printed stuff from your printer/shapeways usually put fillets on all your corners? how important is it to prevent cracking/stress concentrations, etc.

I'm a mechanical engineer by trade but not a design engineer. I do a lot of testing of heavy machinery on board Navy ships so my design engineering skills are rusty, haha. I know it is important in the 1:1 world where things are cut from a block of material, but not sure how much of that translates to and additive process such as 3D printing in the world of toy trucks. I feel like a fillet on a part that is 2 mm wide gets lost in the resolution of the printer.
JDM74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-26-2017, 06:55 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Got a 3D printer on the way, got a design question

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDM74 View Post
So I'm using AutoCAD to try and design a relocated battery tray for the HPI venture. I have a question regarding stress concentrations and using fillets in the corners and such. I've done some searching and haven't found exactly what I need.

Do you guys that have done a lot of design work and printed stuff from your printer/shapeways usually put fillets on all your corners? how important is it to prevent cracking/stress concentrations, etc.