Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: 303 stainless steel

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2018, 09:51 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default 303 stainless steel

Does anyone have a decent amount of experience with this? I got a 6' stick of .250 diameter to make some lower links. I ran my RPMs low, like around 250 with an easy pecking feed and cutting fluid and I was still destroying drill bits .

I was using a #30 for the tap hole for M4 x .7. I never got close enough to run a tap yet, I've never worked with this grade before, only some 416 which was harder than this but at that time I had carbide tooling. This time, only regular HSS jobber drill bits.

Any insite would be appreciated, I'd like to finish the links using this since I've already paid for the material.
BigSki is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-30-2018, 12:24 AM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: 303 stainless steel

From what I remember from school, stainless work hardens badly. I don't think pecking is recommended. You don't want to stop in the middle of a cut if you don't have to. Did you start with a center drill and/or smaller bit? I work with 304 for my builds with just a hand drill, a set of good HSS bits, a center punch, and some cutting fluid. I start as small as practical, continuous cuts, and work my way up to the final size. Seems to work for me.

Disclaimer: I'm nowhere near what anyone would consider a machinist, so I could be right, partially right, or completely wrong. ;)

Last edited by RCMFMaxxMan; 01-30-2018 at 12:28 AM.
RCMFMaxxMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 06:07 AM   #3
RCC Addict

Look into coated tooling and high pressure cutting fluid. Sorry I don't have time to elaborate more but that will start you in the right direction.
QuesoDelDiablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 06:17 AM   #4
Yashua

TiNi coated bits man And plenty of lube.
Wait till you try to thread it .