Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: Do I want a 3d printer, or CNC router

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2018, 11:25 PM   #1
IPT
Quarry Creeper

Default Do I want a 3d printer, or CNC router

Ok, very broad topic, I know...however I have zero experience with either. I'm not even clear on my goals yet, so that makes it tough. I am in my initial research phase. I also realize a CNC router setup will be 5-6x as much as the printer (likely $1K give or take a few hundred).

My goal is hobby and craft stuff. I like the idea of being able to use aluminum because I like to custom paint/powder coat. I would like to do plaques, with raised and recessed text. Would be cool to do aluminum wheels but I think with the $1K CNC systems I would be limited to body panels and maybe bead lock rings. I'd like to do RC parts. Maybe cut out body panels, and accessories. One concern with a 3d printer is the surface is not totally smooth on the finished product. For paint that is not great once you apply any glossy finish.

Maybe I want both, and it seems like the 3D printer can be had quite cheap to start with. Are the software's similar in any way? I anticipate the CAD stuff for the CNC will be a big learning curve. How about for the 3 Printers?

I know it's a broad topic, and maybe even apples to oranges, but anyone with experience with either or both i am all ears to what you have to say. What are your experiences, suggestions, and thoughts?
IPT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-05-2018, 08:59 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: Do I want a 3d printer, or CNC router

Quote:
Originally Posted by IPT View Post