Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: How to drill Carbon Fiber

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2023, 03:24 PM   #1

Default How to drill Carbon Fiber

I have never worked with CF before. Are there any tricks / gotchas drilling a 3mm hole using a hand drill and HSS drill bits I have lying around? I have no drill press, unfortunately. Thanks!
ParrotSandwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-08-2023, 05:51 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: How to drill Carbon Fiber

I'm not a pro but I would mask up and clean up thoroughly after drilling as carbon fiber dust is just nasty stuff. Place a block of wood on the back side to avoid blowing out the hole, hold it tight or clamp it if you can.

I'll also use the tip of a skewer or a nail to apply some CA to the hole in order to hold it together. The holes tend to end up a little bit frayed and the glue should help hold it together.

I also prefer to make a jig for drilling in the right spot since you only get one go at it.

Last edited by HumboldtEF; 05-08-2023 at 05:54 PM.
HumboldtEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2023, 08:19 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Carfull drilling carbon fiber you could cause a rift in the space time continuum m and the chassis could disapere in to a gray hole only to return evil
ferp420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2023, 10:34 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper

Latex gloves (or the like), a Vacuum, painters tape, clamp, steady hand, pilot hole first, final size, then Superglue.

Assuming it’s for a chassis, but Is it flat plate or round stock?
hnoroian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2023, 12:45 AM   #5
I wanna be Dave

As mentioned, CF dust is EXTREMELY nasty. ONLY do this in a VERY well-ventilated area, and wear a mask (not a regular painters face covering, but a quality mask that filters out just about everything.