RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Tools, and Procedures (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/tools-procedures/)
-   -   How to drill Carbon Fiber (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/tools-procedures/631741-how-drill-carbon-fiber.html)

ParrotSandwich 05-08-2023 03:24 PM

How to drill Carbon Fiber

I have never worked with CF before. Are there any tricks / gotchas drilling a 3mm hole using a hand drill and HSS drill bits I have lying around? I have no drill press, unfortunately. Thanks!

HumboldtEF 05-08-2023 05:51 PM

Re: How to drill Carbon Fiber

I'm not a pro but I would mask up and clean up thoroughly after drilling as carbon fiber dust is just nasty stuff. Place a block of wood on the back side to avoid blowing out the hole, hold it tight or clamp it if you can.

I'll also use the tip of a skewer or a nail to apply some CA to the hole in order to hold it together. The holes tend to end up a little bit frayed and the glue should help hold it together.

I also prefer to make a jig for drilling in the right spot since you only get one go at it.

ferp420 05-08-2023 08:19 PM

Carfull drilling carbon fiber you could cause a rift in the space time continuum m and the chassis could disapere in to a gray hole only to return evil

hnoroian 05-08-2023 10:34 PM

Latex gloves (or the like), a Vacuum, painters tape, clamp, steady hand, pilot hole first, final size, then Superglue.

Assuming it’s for a chassis, but Is it flat plate or round stock?

Panther6834 05-09-2023 12:45 AM

As mentioned, CF dust is EXTREMELY nasty. ONLY do this in a VERY well-ventilated area, and wear a mask (not a regular painters face covering, but a quality mask that filters out just about everything.