Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: Powder coating and you!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2007, 06:32 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default Powder coating and you!

I've been tossing the idea back and forth about getting a powder coater for a few weeks now. I made the plunge last week and I was finally able to get me a little convection oven yesterday.

This is my first try at powder coating. I used black matte finish. I cleaned up my old Bender link mount and coated it. These are the results.

Not bad. The back side needs a little more, so I will put another coat on it. I'm happy with the results for never having used this before. I think I'm going to be finding a whole lot more crap around here to coat now. A little more dialing in and the tuber is going to get hit up too.

By popular demand (Jason), a step by step guide:

Sand and clean the surface. I read on a site where they said you clean with denatured alcohol, so I did.

Hang up the pieces to be coated, including the one that you messed up the back the first time.

See how well hung it is? Also note how it has the ground clip attached basically to the part. This is how the powder attaches itself to the metal piece. The powder itself gets charged by the electrode and it sticks to the grounded surface.

This here is where the concentrated sexiness comes from. Ignore my fire hazard of a garage in the background:

Apply powder liberally (although this may have been too liberal, we shall see):

Put them in your ez-bake oven for 20 mins at 400F (or in this case a convection oven set to convect the air):

Since this is in realtime like on 24, you'll just have to wait another 15 mins or so.

Back from our commercial break. As you can see it looks a little like an orange peel. Once I get my new air compressor, I'll try out my new sand blaster on this and redo it.