Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures
Loading

Notices

Thread: CAD/CAM software

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2007, 03:59 PM   #1
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: omaha
Posts: 858
Default CAD/CAM software

Okay, these questions are for those who use these style programs for a living.

What have you used?

What do you like?

Why do you prefer this software over others?

What do you use it for?

How well does it work, in your opinion, for getting ideas from your brain to the computer?

Now, from your computer to the machining device (lathe, mill, lazer, waterjet)?

I have a couple software packages I am leaning towards for an up coming business venture, but asking a group of people that use these programs on a daily basis would make me a little more at ease with a purchase this big. Feel free to bash or praise what ever you like, I am looking for "kick you in the nuts" honesty.

Thanks,
Gerame
RD400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-24-2007, 06:10 PM   #2
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,986
Default

Hey Gerame

I use several different programs at work.

If you are looking at doing mostly 2D work then you have tons of great options.

I have a lot of expierence with AutoCAD and Microstation. I think AutoCAD is a great software and it is fairly simple to use. Microstation just blows.

The next time I swing up through Omaha we should hook up and I can show you a couple really nice options.

It is hard to hit all the pros and cons.

You know my number if you have questions you think I can help with.

Josh
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 07:40 PM   #3
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: omaha
Posts: 858
Default

Thanks Josh, I will take you up on that. I have lost your number, PM it to me and I will call you.

What I am really looking for is info on the software that takes me from 3D modeling to machining, and on to production.
RD400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2007, 01:19 PM   #4
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MUSE, PA
Posts: 1,273
Default

microstation doesn't totally blow, if you apply it for what it is best for, which i have heard it is best for mapping/cartography/civil type work.

for general 2D work, i agree, AutoCAD would be your best bet. and if you have no intentions on doing 3D work, i would further suggest AutoCAD LT. it has all of ACAD's full 2D feautures, for about 1/3 of the cost. i am using AutoCAD LT 2008 at work.

HOWEVER, with LT '08 i can't get any of my old LISP routines to work. which for what i use CAD for, structural steel design and detailing, really sucks, because i can't run any of my steel shapes routines.

(i don't know if this is becase of using just the LT version, or if it is from using the '08 version.)
STEEL_CITY_CRAWLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 07:48 PM   #5
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: st. louis
Posts: 115
Default

There is a bunch of CAD/CAM programs out, I have used the built-in CNC software in Unigraphics, also have played with masterCAM.

For the 3D stuff.... for something that will port well to a 3D CAM software lean towards solidworks/inventor.

Your best bet for any high end software is find someone with a college ID and buy student versions, some can be stripped down a little but for stuff that would be made on a bench top mill student versions will do fine.

couple links to look at..

http://cnczone.com/
http://www.cncci.com/resources/links.htm
BUBBA069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 09:53 PM   #6
Pullman Crawler
 
A_Jeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pullman
Posts: 497
Default

I have a student version of AutoCAD, it the same a the full there is not a thing different from in it, it just puts a banner around the page when you print that it was produced by a student version. I have talk to some of my Professors and one has gotten on to a forum for CAD and there is no way to get ride of the banner, but if it doesn't bother you to have it on there, then the student version is a lot cheaper.
A_Jeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 09:56 PM   #7
I wanna be Dave
 
TLTCrawlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 2,489
Default

Im gonna be designing on autocad/autodesk, and rhinoceros, so far rhinoceros is like a high quality z modeler (free prgoam)

We got the auto cad that cost 5k I think/and rhino that cost about 1k!
It might have been cheaper for the autocad
TLTCrawlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 06:51 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: motion city
Posts: 2
Default

i'm using CAD
rhino
and for skeching
i'm using alias sketchbook pro

but the pro said CATIA is the best progie ever
isep2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 07:39 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 34
Default

I got autocad 2000, dont use it yet (manual is like 2000 A4 pages) so i downloaded e-machine shop, good simple free program with the nice feature of being able to send your design off and have it machined all through the program..... even though they dont ship to the UK :-(
josh_smaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 11:12 AM   #10
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tucson
Posts: 584
Default

Try Caddepot.com. It Lets Try A Bunch Of Shareware Software And Free Downloads For Home Use. If You Thinking About About Cnc Cad/cam Software. I Use Ezcam, Gibbscam,
Travis
TK-twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 04:07 AM   #11
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 384
Default

In school were using AutoCad 2007. I like 2000i better though. We also use Inventor for smaller things.
Cslax06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 08:26 PM   #12
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lehigh Valley
Posts: 956
Default Cad

I use AutoCad daily (LDD for the most part), & I just started learning Rhino
jmz6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 07:06 PM   #13
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Longmont
Posts: 67
Default

Hello, Gerame

On the CAM side of the question.

In the past. I have used Mastercam Lathe and their Mastercam Draft programs.

I now use GibbsCam/Lathe (version 5.55)on a daily basis. It's only 2 axis software, no solids for the Lathe I run. I found that GibbsCam allowed me to create geometry and tool paths very quickly. If I needed to make adjustments to that geometry or the tools paths. I could do that right now and repost process that data back to the machine in seconds/minutes. Working mainly on prototype parts, 5-25 piece orders you need to be able to turn those orders around right now. GibbsCam does this for me.

In a production type environment you could spend the time and program bullet proof programs in order to run 1,000's/ 100,000's of parts. I found that past versions of MasterCam Lathe (version7 I believe) worked more along these lines. They may/should have changed in more current versions, but I wouldn't know I do still have Mastercam Draft thou, most bang for your buck. ~ $150. A decade ago.

Good Luck on the Venture.
Leigh
sLeigh_P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 08:49 PM   #14
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mesa
Posts: 121
Default

I started out with AutoCad back in '86, used it up through R12, then moved to Solidworks in '98. I let my Solidworks license lapse in 2005, then tried Rhinoceros and Alibre for the past year and a half. I just picked up Solidworks 2007 and I am wondering why I ever strayed.

Alibre had an easier learning curve than Rhino or SW but it suffered from many strange happenings and sporadic support.

Rhino was great for raw 3d modeling, but didn't always translate to concrete dimensions well when pushing it through to gcode.

Solidworks has been the most reliable for me. And the learning curve isn't too bad considering how much power is in the current release - really liking the FEA - but then, Solidworks puts the hammer to your wallet too.

I would follow the same rules when purchasing CAD software as when purchasing any cnc machine:

1. analyze your -real- needs
2. buy as big as your budget will allow in order to meet those needs

As for CAM, well I haven't had to deal with it too much, I usually just hand off my designs and someone else massages them into gcode. I hope to pick up a taig to put in the garage soon and learn that side too .
xaruum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 09:47 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: woodbridge
Posts: 34
Default

I use inventor 2005 I love it.
newclod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 08:51 PM   #16
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: omaha
Posts: 858
Default

Well guys, the trigger was pulled and I ended up going with SolidWorks 2008 Professional and MasterCAM Mill Level 3, X2 MR2 SP1. Combined these with the Haas VMC that is being built right now......I think its about time to make some chips.


Thanks to all the guys that took the time to give advice and their thoughts on this and other subjects.
RD400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 12:03 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lexington, S.C.
Posts: 39
Default

Give this one a try for tube chassis.

bend-tech http://www.2020softwaresolutions.com/

http://bend-tech.com/video/custom_3d...tom_3d_02.html
steven9026 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com