Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures
Loading

Notices

Thread: Welding solid rod?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2007, 12:20 PM   #1
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lehi
Posts: 1,285
Default Welding solid rod?

My buddy made a tube chassis using I believe solid rod, and a wire feed welder. If I remember right, he said he had it turned down as low as it would go. And it is a strong chassis too. I can stand on it, and it won't bend (I weigh around 260) hit it with a sledge hammer, etc. I am thinking of building one similar to the way he did (he in the materials, and way it was put together) What do you guys think of it? Any drawbacks?

I could post pics of it later tonight
Going Up! is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-17-2007, 01:43 PM   #2
Dirt Addict
 
roktoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stumblin' thru the parking lot of an invisible 7-Eleven
Posts: 1,055
Default

No problem doing a solid rod chassis....people do them all the time.

Easier to build than one from tube.

However, either about twice the weight of tube chassis (same size material) or the
chassis will be weaker due to using smaller size solid such as 1/8".

Jay
roktoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 09:29 PM   #3
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lehi
Posts: 1,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roktoy View Post
No problem doing a solid rod chassis....people do them all the time.

Easier to build than one from tube.

However, either about twice the weight of tube chassis (same size material) or the
chassis will be weaker due to using smaller size solid such as 1/8".

Jay
Ya, I thought it would be around 3/16 is what I would use?
Going Up! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 10:32 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Racking my Brain
Posts: 424
Default

Ive built a few using a wire feed with solid rod and tubing. I personaly prefer to tack a section together then come back through and weld it up nicely.
aggressivellc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 11:13 PM   #5
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ukiah, CA. (nor cal)
Posts: 275
Default

yea the only real down fall between solid and tube is the weight. the solid will way twice as much as the tube.
dhoffroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 06:18 AM   #6
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: LaSalle
Posts: 819
Default

In the past when i have welded tube chassis together i like to turn the heat up and the speed up (when welding 3/16" solid)
Mikekx65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 11:50 AM   #7
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cyril
Posts: 153
Default

Check this out. This is a tuber that I made the other day. I used welding rods and this thing is light wieght.

First Tuber Build
Tuffone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 08:38 PM   #8
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lehi
Posts: 1,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuffone View Post
Check this out. This is a tuber that I made the other day. I used welding rods and this thing is light wieght.

First Tuber Build
That looks good! The only thing I am worried about is if I when't you tube, wouldn't the weld go right through it?

I also have a HUGE wire weed welder (Esab I think is the brand) So would I want to turn the speed down too? or just turn the heat?
Going Up! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 12:56 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hillsboro,Oregon
Posts: 19
Default

yes you would turn down your heat and wire feed for 3/16 you sould run aorund 160-170V (heat) with a wire feed speed of 320-340 IMP hope that helps.
Chris Madden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 02:22 AM   #10
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Columbia TN
Posts: 6,154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Madden View Post
yes you would turn down your heat and wire feed for 3/16 you sould run aorund 160-170V (heat) with a wire feed speed of 320-340 IMP hope that helps.

Uhhh 160 volts?? Thats crazy, are you sure you don't mean amps?? I think for that small of rod about 23 volts would be more than enough.
Kamikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 10:31 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hillsboro,Oregon
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamikaze View Post
Uhhh 160 volts?? Thats crazy, are you sure you don't mean amps?? I think for that small of rod about 23 volts would be more than enough.
volts is output on mig welders amps are on tig welders
Chris Madden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 10:38 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hillsboro,Oregon
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamikaze View Post
Uhhh 160 volts?? Thats crazy, are you sure you don't mean amps?? I think for that small of rod about 23 volts would be more than enough.
if he was using like tube he would run the heat around 50-60V with a with a wire feed speed at (.030=220-250 Ipm) (.035=180-220 IPM) but he is round stock so you would be runing hoter.
Chris Madden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 09:38 PM   #13
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Columbia TN
Posts: 6,154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Madden View Post
volts is output on mig welders amps are on tig welders
You need to brush up on 9th grade physical science. I was just doing some build up work on a 14" tiebar less than an hour ago running 1/16" fluxcore wire and I was bairly pushing 32 volts, now I was running at 270 amps. And with that I was laying down a 3/4" bead. Volts and amps go together, you change one and you change the other, it all depends on what readout your welder has. Now my dinner brake is over, I guess I will go back to work now, welding, like I have been for years.
Kamikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 07:09 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: davenport
Posts: 41
Default

wow, welding 101, volts amps, current, feed, AHHHHHHH !!!!!!!

Just turn the "power" knob ALL THE WAY DOWN, and test weld on a scrap piece of material a nice bead and adjust your feed untill its a constant sizzle, with no pushing of the gun, and no popping, then go to town on your tuber.......jeesh, everyone trying to "guess" the right volts/amps and feed speed, every machine is different.....
fixinbigtrucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com