Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas Crawlers

Notices

Thread: TRX-4 Lubricants

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2022, 07:59 AM   #1

Default TRX-4 Lubricants

Ok, so newbie here with a question. I'll admit I am totally confused with what I am supposed to use for Diff, Portal etc lubricant. Is it a grease. If so, what kind should I use. Thanks.
SC Doberman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-11-2022, 08:16 AM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: TRX-4 Lubricants

Yes, all of the crawlers I’m aware of use grease for all gears - transmission, differentials and portals if applicable.

Personally I bought a tube of Lucas marine grease from a local hardware store and that’s what I use on everything.

Crawlers are fairly forgiving, the most important thing is getting some kind of grease on the gears, and checking them periodically. Depending on use and environment you may need to clean and regrease more often than others. Driving submerged in water often would require frequent checking and greasing.

Lucas red and tacky is popular, vanquish grease, cow rc udder butter…

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
twade984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2022, 08:31 AM   #3

That’s what I was looking for. Thanks so much!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
SC Doberman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2022, 06:57 AM   #4

You can use 2 types of grease if you want:
- non sticky grease for all gears in order to have a car that run smoothly (I use Super Lube grease, that has ptfe inside)
- sticky grease (like the Tamiya anti wear grease) for the diffs, it will act a bit like a limited slip diff... or go with a non sticky one and lock you diffs when needed.
Charlys748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2022, 02:30 AM   #5

I'm using Quicksilver Extreme Grease

https://www.amazon.com/Quicksilver-8.../dp/B00BO8A6P6
cooltone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2022, 05:04 PM   #6
Rock Crawler