Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Independent suspension suggestions...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2004, 08:11 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Independent suspension suggestions...

I'm not really new to the crawling world, but this is my first rc anything. I bought an e-maxx with the sole intention of making it a crawler. I want to keep/use the independent suspension, because (in my limited opinion), SA rigs are too easy to get extreme articulation out of. I was wondering if anyone had some input on how to get more articulation? I'm currently designing a few of my ideas @ work (I'm a machinist). Here's some of them if you're intersted:

AL bulkheads that extend the top a-arm link out about 1/2" to clear CVD diff mount.

AL axle carriers with bottom pivot ball housing extended 1/2" to compensate the change in geometry from the new bulkheads

axle carriers modified for different turnbuckle placement (to eliminate bind at droop and extension)

stock a-arms (if it ain't broke, don't fix it)

4WS with hobbico 1/4 servos (hope these are good, someone here recommended them)

stock tranny W/ 9T-76T (GD600 possibly - don't know much about 'em except what I've read)

stock motors for now

That's a few of 'em. I have a lot more that would definitely be awesome, but it turns the truck into something more like a robot. I don't want that. I don't care if it's truly scale, but I still want it to be a truck. Let me know what you think.

WR Morrison
nunyaDbiznus@msn.com

Also, I'm designing a couple dif. sets of experimetal beadlocks. I'll let you know how this all turns out.
WRMorrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-22-2004, 08:47 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Independent suspension suggestions...

cool
fuzzhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2004, 03:57 AM   #3
2006 2.2 National Champ