Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Ridding the Trx4 of locking diffs.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2018, 10:32 AM   #21

Default Re: Ridding the Trx4 of locking diffs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rm25x View Post
For me mine is strictly a comp rig and the micro servos are just too big of a failure point. It's hard to do well with an open diff because of a servo failure, trust me
I am new at this side of the rc hobby....but I don't understand how the servo would be a failure point....I have flown small planes for a good many years and have not had a servo strip or die....even on a bad landing. Is the surface that much harder on the servos.....I know metal gear micros are available, but with some planes every gram matters....I would not think it would be as big a deal on a car. I would also think the cable thing would not be an issue if you take care of the car as well.

Not picking just trying to understand.

From my noob point of view it seems you are taking away a key selling point to this car....I also thought you could unlock and you could make tighter turns....and thought some of the events it costs you to back up and make another turn in....if you could unlock you would have that tighter turning.
cherokee_140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-19-2018, 10:26 PM   #22
Quarry Creeper

Im looking at locking mine up as it will further simplifly the rig and less moving parts can be a good thing. also every options a person choose's to do is different for what the driver needs and wants. terrain and type of driving will be different for everyone.

for myself once i lock/spool it will feel like every other crawler out there locked up. but my diff servos have started to twicth and im not going to replace them even though i like the option take your line carefully and should be no issue... well maybe challenging.

Traxxas makes spool, LEM makes a spool as well.