Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Servo Mounting made Easy!!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2007, 02:13 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Location: Working in my dream RC workshop and remodeling my entire home.
Default Servo Mounting made Easy!!

I received a private message about how I went about mounting my servos on MaxxMasher and I thought I'd share it with everyone. Maybe it's not the best but I'm new to crawling and it's working well for me so far.:-P

Hey my mount for the servo couldn't be more simple,
really. What I used is 6-32 threaded bulk rod from Lowe's. I used 6-32 lock nuts at either end to secure them. I used hollow bulk aluminum rods to cover the rods and give the ears of the servo some support. I used bulk 90 degree angle aluminum from Lowe's for the mounting backet. Don't forget the washers! What you wanna do is :
1. cut the rods to length (I used a dremel & reinforced cutting wheel.
2. Use a grinding wheel or file to bevel both ends of the rod so you can get the nuts started.
3. Use locking pliers to hold the rod and carefully start the nut on each end (wind in and out several times to make sure each will start easily once you start to mount the servo)
4. Put blue locktite on the inside ends of the rods and put the nuts on and let them set for a little bit.
5. Cut your bracket to length and drill holes so you can mount it to the top of the bulkheads. (you will have to cut off the piece that the bumper mounts to so your bracket will lay flat)
6. Be sure to countersink your holes and use flathead allen traxxas screws for everything. You want everything to be as flat and tight as possible.
7. Now that you have the bracket mounted, put your servo where you want it. Hold the alum. pieces between the ears and the bracket and slide in the threaded rod.