Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas TRX-4

Notices

Thread: Simple green for degreasing axles, no.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2019, 09:27 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Simple green for degreasing axles, no.

This may be a total noob move, but i disassembled my axles for cleaning and regreasing today and left all the shafts and gears in a Simple Green solution to remove the old grease for a few hours. I usually use simple green to degrease my mountain bike chain and it works great.

Well, dont do that. It will strip the black oxide coating off the axle shafts, wheel stubs and any screws.

mass-hole is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-20-2019, 09:42 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Simple green for degreasing axles, no.

Here's a question for you - How long did you leave them to soak? That's probably the problem...too long. If you're willing to give it another try, let me suggest this, instead:
Simple Green Foaming Crystal Cleaner/Degreaser
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Simple-G...9010/301285878

A racer (Mark Santa Maria) had gotten great results from it. When I swapped the front & rear diffs on my Traxxas Rustler 4x4, for Traxxas XO-1 diffs, I cleaned at the Rustler parts work this, and everything came out great.

~ More peace, love, laughter, & kindness would make the world a MUCH better place

Last edited by Panther6834; 10-20-2019 at 09:44 PM.
Panther6834 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 10:15 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Panther6834 View Post
Here's a question for you - How long did you leave them to soak? That's probably the problem...too long. If you're willing to give it another try, let me suggest this, instead:
Simple Green Foaming Crystal Cleaner/Degreaser
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Simple-G...9010/301285878