Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas TRX-4

Notices

Thread: Xl5 won't turn on.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2022, 05:31 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Xl5 won't turn on.

So everything worked fine last weekend. I bought a smaller battery pack, but the LHS didn't have one with the correct plug and my charger has deans. I figured I'd just swap everything over to deans. After I soldered the deans plug into my esc, it won't turn on.
If I plug the battery in, the car comes alive without turning on the xl5, I've got steering without pressing the button on the esc, but the light does not come on when I press the button. I disconnected the motor while soldering the new plug. I tried two different batteries with the same result. Any ideas?

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Afterbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-18-2022, 09:42 PM   #2

Default Re: Xl5 won't turn on.

I am not an expert with the XL5, but here are a few troubleshooting questions I would ask myself.
When soldering the deans plug onto the ESC cables did they get too hot, the heat can travel up the wire to the ESC and cause damage.

The Deans plug forms a 'T' when looking at it from the end, the top of the T should be red, positive. the vertical should be black, negative.
What is your new battery, 2s, 3s. check the output voltage. 2s should be between 6.4 and 8.4 volts and 3s 9.6 and 12.6 volts.
Just a start for troubleshooting.
BrainBucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2022, 02:59 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainBucket View Post
I am not an expert with the XL5, but here are a few troubleshooting questions I would ask myself.
When soldering the deans plug onto the ESC cables did they get too hot, the heat can travel up the wire to the ESC and cause damage.

The Deans plug forms a 'T' when looking at it from the end, the top of the T should be red, positive. the vertical should be black, negative.